School of Communication

Doctor of Philosophy in Media, Technology, and Society

The Media, Technology, and Society (MTS) doctoral program is an innovative, interdisciplinary, and flexible curriculum focusing on the dynamic media and technology environment and its impact. The program encourages students to pursue their passion by designing individualized programs of study that incorporate relevant classes from across Northwestern University. The program faculty are internationally renowned for their research in areas such as:

  • Children’s development
  • Digital media use and effects
  • Health and well-being
  • Human-computer interaction
  • Innovation and change
  • Media institutions
  • Networks and organizing
  • Social media

The MTS faculty undertake research in these areas using a wide array of traditional and innovative research methods. In addition, they actively pursue opportunities to make positive economic, cultural, and social impact through their research in businesses, nonprofit, and government agencies.


5/19/14 MTS Brown Bag Series: Madeline Smith

TSB doctoral candidate Madeline Smith will present at the brown bag series on Monday May 19 at noon, Frances Searle Building #2-107.

5/12/14 MTS Brown Bag Series: Fashina Alade and Heather Zupancic

MTS students Fashina Alade and Heather Zupancic will present at the brown bag series on Monday May 12 at noon, Frances Searle Building #2-107.

5/8/14 MTS Visiting Speaker Series: Jennifer Earl (Arizona)

Jennifer Earl (University of Arizona) will present on Thursday May 8th at 12:00 pm in Room #2-378 of Frances Searle Building. The title of her talk is “Contentious Consumers: Political Consumerism and Self-Directed Political Action.”

> More


Yuli Patrick Hsieh Published in Information, Communication and Society

MTS doctoral candidate Yuli Patrick Hsieh has a new paper coming out:

Hsieh, Y. P., & Li, M-H. (2014). Online political participation, civic talk, and media multiplexity: How Taiwanese citizens express political opinions on the Web. Information, Communication and Society, 17(1), 26 – 44. doi: 10.1080/1369118x.2013.833278

New Book by Pablo J. Boczkowski and Eugenia Mitchelstein

MTS director Pablo J. Boczkowski and doctoral candidate Eugenia Mitchelstein recently published “The News Gap: When the Information Preferences of the Media and the Public Diverge” (MIT Press, 2013). For more information, visit the book’s website:

Two New Publications by Darren Gergle and Lauren Scissorts

MTS faculty Darren Gergle and doctoral candidate Lauren Scissors have two new pieces out:

Kalman, Y.M., Scissors, L.E., Gill, A.G, & Gergle, D. (2013). Online chronemics convey social information. Computers in Human Behavior, 29(3), 1260-1269.

Scissors, L.E., Gergle, D. (2013). Back and forth, back and forth: Channel switching in romantic couple conflict.  In Proceedings of the ACM Conference on Computer Supported Cooperative Work (CSCW) 2013, 237-248. New York: ACM Press.

> More


2013-14 Placement Roundup

Congratulations to our students on their successes during the 2013-14 job market season!

Will Barley: Assistant Professor, Department of Communication at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Lauren Scissors: User Experience Researcher at Facebook, in Menlo Park, CA.

Ignacio Siles: Assistant Professor, School of Communication at the University of Costa Rica.

Harsh Taneja: Assistant Professor, Missouri School of Journalism, University of Missouri.

Angela Wu: Assistant Professor, School of Journalism and Communication at the Chinese University of Hong Kong.

Lindsay Young: Postdoctoral Scholar, Chicago Center for HIV Elimination (CCHE) at the University of Chicago.

Tommy Rousse Receives Best Paper Award

MTS student Tommy Rousse has received Best Paper Award at the 2014 Game History Annual Symposium. Bravo, Tommy!

MTS Alumni Taneja and Wu Receive Best Poster Award

MTS graduates Harsh Taneja and Angela Wu have received the Best Poster Award at the 2014 ACM WebScience conference, for “What balkanizes the Internet? Access denied or access unwanted.” Congratulations, Angela and Harsh!

> More